Category Archives: MOE

Posts under this category are for the MOE awards luncheon

Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon


The Mark of Excellence is an annual contest honoring the best in student journalism. First place regional winners advance to the national competition and area recognized at SPJ spring conferences.

Our region’s Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon took place during our conference, Saturday, April 11 at McNeese State University. Jim Beam, veteran political journalist, delivered the keynote speech. Afterwards, former SPJ President Sonny Alberado announced the winners of this year’s Mark of Excellence in Region 12.

Congrats to this year’s winners! Click here to read the release.

MOE Keynote Speaker

jim-beam-bio-keynote-speakerDuring our 2015 Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon, Jim Beam will share his experiences as political columnist.

Jim Beam is a political columnist, editorial writer and correspondent for the American Press. He has been with the newspaper for over 54 years. His columns have won first place awards from the Louisiana Press Association and the Louisiana-Mississippi Associated Press Association.

Jim also covers sessions of the Louisiana Legislature. His first work at the state Capitol began in the late 1960s.

He is a lifelong resident of Lake Charles, a graduate of McNeese State University and received a master of arts degree in history from LSU. After teaching in Calcasieu Parish for four years, he joined the American Press Jan. 21, 1961. He has been a reporter, city editor, co-editor, editor and political correspondent.

He is married and has two children and two grandchildren.

2014 MOE Awards Luncheon

Each year, the Society of Professional Journalists presents the Mark of Excellence Awards, honoring the best in student journalism.

The awards offer categories for print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism. Entries are first judged on the regional level. First place regional winners advance to the national competition and are recognized at SPJ spring conferences during the Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon.

Roy Reed, an award-winning journalist and educator, will deliver the keynote address at this year’s Region 12 MOE Awards Luncheon.

Immediate Past SPJ President Sonny Albarado and Professor Gerald Jordan with the University of Arkansas will help with handing out the MOE awards.

Click here to see pictures from last year’s MOE Awards Luncheon at our Region 12 Conference in Oxford, Miss.